Old School PhilaTude Memory

In 1987, as a 4th grader, my life revolved around the Philadelphia Flyers.  That season, the Flyers made it to the Stanley Cup finals behind rookie goaltending sensation Ron Hextall.  I couldn’t wait for the series to begin.  I vividly remember hearing throughout the media about the greatness of the Edmonton Oilers, the Flyers opponent.  Yes, the Wayne Gretzky led Oilers were one of the greatest teams ever.  They boasted a team full of superstars, including Gretzky, Mark Messier, Jari Kurri, Paul Coffey and Grant Fuhr, to name a few.  But, I had confidence in my favorite Flyers.  Tim Kerr, Mark Howe, Brian Propp and Dave Poulin led the way, but they were flanked by young players, Peter Zezel, Rick Tocchet and Scott Mellanby.  I loved this Flyers team.  I could rattle off each players number, the line combinations and especially all of Ron Hextall’s statistics. 

The Oilers took a 3-1 series lead, but I had faith the Flyers would come back.  They did.  The Flyers tied the series at 3 games a piece in dramatic fashion near the end of game 6.  J.J. Diagneault scored a goal from the point at 14:28 of regulation to break a 2-2 tie.  I remember watching him score that goal sitting on the burnt orange shag carpet in my parent’s den.  Seeing the fans at the Spectrum scream for the final 5 minutes of that game was amazing.


Unfortunately, game 7 didn’t turn out that well for the Flyers. They lost 3-1, but my elementary school had free ice cream the next day.

Explore posts in the same categories: NHL, NHL Playoffs, Philadelphia Flyers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

